May 15, 2019 Monroestar

Top High School Boys Lacrosse Programs Selected for Third Annual GEICO High School Lacrosse Nationals on ESPNU

Washington, D.C. –

The field is set for the third annual GEICO High School Lacrosse Nationals event held in Washington, D.C. This year’s participants are No. 2 Salisbury School, No. 3 The Hill Academy, No. 13 Bullis School and No. 14 St. Sebastian’s School. The semifinals will be held Monday, May 27, at 6:30 and 8:30 p.m. ET with the championship game on Tue, May 28, at 7 p.m. All games will air on ESPNU and will be available via the ESPN App. Booker Corrigan and Bob Shriver will call all three games.

Catholic University will once again host the event, this time on the brand new Carlini Field, home to the university’s men’s and women’s soccer and lacrosse teams. GEICO High School Lacrosse Nationals allows elite high school lacrosse teams from across the United States and Canada to face one another in a post-season tournament.

The 2019 GEICO High School Lacrosse Nationals schedule:

Date Time (ET) Matchup Network
Mon, May 27 6:30 p.m. Semifinal #1 – No. 13 Bullis vs. No. 3 The Hill ESPNU
8:30 p.m. Semifinal #2 – No. 14 St. Sebastian’s vs. No. 2 Salisbury ESPNU
Tue, May 28 7 p.m. GEICO High School Lacrosse Nationals-Championship Game ESPNU


The 2019 GEICO High School Lacrosse Nationals participating field:

No. 2 Salisbury School (Conn.)
Coach – Bobby Wynne
Ranked Players – Seniors: No. 17 Connor Drake (Duke), No. 43 Logan McNaney (Maryland), No. 54 Skyler Wilson (Yale), No. 83 Dawson Wynne; Juniors: No. 8 Patrick McIntosh (Virginia), No. 87 Kaden Brothers (Johns Hopkins)
Notes: Coach Wynne and his team have been here before, advancing to the finals last year before losing to The Hill Academy. The Crimson Knights are loaded with six ranked players, and enter the tournament ranked No. 2 nationally. The team looks to maintain a perfect record as they seek their first GEICO Nationals title.

No. 3 The Hill Academy (Ont.)
Coach – Brodie Merrill
Ranked Players – Seniors: No. 8 Dyson Williams (Duke), No. 37 Joshua Zawada (Michigan); Juniors: No. 42 Matt Wright (North Carolina – 2019 reclassification), No. 65 Jack Follows (Cornell)
Notes: This is the third consecutive appearance for Coach Brodie Merrill and The Hill Academy, who claimed the first two GEICO Nationals Championships in 2017 and 2018. The Pride is deep, with four ranked players, including 2018 Tournament MVP Josh Zawada back at Attack. As the No. 4 ranked team, The Hill will look to move up the rankings with a strong showing, as they chase a third title.

No. 13 Bullis School (Md.)
Coach – Jeff Bellistri
Ranked Players – No. 28 Robert Schain (Penn),
Notes: Jeff Bellistri and Bullis will make their second consecutive appearance at GEICO Nationals, after winning the last two DC IAC Championships, including three of the last four. Though captain Robert Schain is heading to Penn next year, and Under Armour All-American middie Bryson Shaw will attend Ohio State to play football, the sophomore class for the Bulldogs is loaded.

No. 14 St. Sebastian’s School (Mass.)
Coach – Adam White
Ranked Players – Seniors: No. 6 Will Frisoli (Duke), No. 39 Michael Swirbalus (Duke)
Notes: This is the third consecutive GEICO Nationals appearance for Coach Adam White and St. Sebastian’s, who will look to keep their undefeated season alive. Attack Michael Swirlbalus will join Will Frisoli at Duke next year, but it’s Peter Blake (Penn) and Mac Fotiades (Michigan) in goal, joining Frisoli on defense that has made the difference this year.

*All team rankings/records are according to the Under Armour / Inside Lacrosse Top 25 High School Power Rankings and all player rankings are according to Inside Lacrosse’s recruiting rankings as of 5/15/19.